"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author argues here that resotoring the news program's time to weather and local news will help it get back to its former level with the viewers as well as with the advertising contracts. Stated in this way, the argument fails several instances of poor reasoning and key factors on the basis of which it can be evaluated. To justify this argument the author reasons that due to devotion of less time to the local and weather news is actually making the program lose its former level and due to the same reason, they are also losing advertising contracts. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence states that it provides little credible support for the author's recommendation. Hence the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that increased time to national news over local and weather news in the late night programme has led to the complaints from the viwers. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground. For example, the complaints from the viewers could be about the quality and content of the show rather than just its duration, whereas the author doesn't mention the nature of complaints. Hence the argument would have been much more compelling if it explicitly stated that the viewers want more time for the shows.

The argument readily claims that the decreased time to the local news has led to the program losing its advertising contracts. However, he does not talk about how many advertisers have actually left and what was the reason that they gave for leaving. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not give a clear picture behind the action. If the argument had provided evidence that the local businesses are cancelling contract because they do not get enough fotage on the programme anymore would have been way more convincing.

Finally the author fails to share the reaction of the viewers for other shows broadcasted during the day. There is not enough evidence by the author to support the argument as he misses several critical aspects and raises several skeptical questions.For example, how many viewers have complained about the programme, what is the real reason behind the local businesses cancelling their advertising contracts etc. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a facade as they are not supported by substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the claims made by the author if provided with sufficient evidence can be considered credible but with such lacking support the argument is unpersuasive. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear evidence perhaps by way a reliable survey and reason analysis behind the occurings. This would help to better assess the argument and also give a clearer picture to the programme as well as the readers.