a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The topic raises a controversial issue whether a nation should require all its students to study the same curriculum until they enter college. Indisputably, this will lead to a uniform and fair education system for all and could be prefered by the authorities too. Nevertheless, it will create a confusing situation for the students as they would feel that they are being taught superfluous subjects which do not interest them. Thus, I generally agree that the same curriculum should be mandatory for all the students in the nation until they enter college.

First of all, having a standrad national curriculum will ensure a common marking and grading system for all. I would like to point out that this will reduce the work of the administration and would also help to evaluate students on a common platform. To illustrate, let us looks at the example of a student getting 90% marks in a state board examination with the student getting the same score in the national board examintaion. Now, the curriculul and syllabus for the examintaions were different and so was the scoring criteria. In such situations, it seems like we are comparing apples with oranges which does not make any sense and thus we do not have a clear winner.

Furthermore, it would be easier for the administration to include new subjects or topics in the curriculum. For eg., to create awareness about the environment and the effects on it, the government can add a new topic which would be taught to the whole nation and it would be easier to incorporate it in the curriculum. In addition to this, it will be easier for the government to make study material available to rustic areas with limited sources of education and they will be studying the same courses so that they could compete with the other students of the nation.

Admittedly the students in this situation would feel that they are being taught subjects that they do not require but such cases can be discussed with the controlling authority and a collabarative decision can be made. However this would be limited to very specific cases and would not disrupt the basis of the system. Hence, this argument does not consitute a sufficent support to claim that the curriculum should not be standardised.

In conclusion, although some students might feel that this would not be the best idea to go with, it can be seen with the abovementioned arguments that making the curriculum standardised for all the nation's students would actually work in their favour. The ease in conduct for the administration, correct evaluation of the students and increase in the reach of education would be a great achievement.