An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether an ailing patient should have an easy access to his her doctor's records of treating similarly afflicted patients. Indisputably, this would seem to give a fair idea to the patient of what he is getting into. Nevertheless, the conclusion made by such studies might not always be true and could create unnecessary doubts and confusions. Thus I would like to explore both options and discuss the advantage and disadvantage in both situations.

First of all, giving access to the patients of the doctor's records can be beneficial in some situations. In general, people are very careful in selecting a doctor when there is a more convoluted surgery and it involves huge amounts of investment. these normally included cases like, heart surgery, organ transplant, brain surgery, cancer treatment, dental treatment etc. In such situations an access to the records can be beneficial to the patient to come to a right judgement.Consequently, it is pretty obvious that a doctor with failed practices or little experience would not be the best fit in such situations and the patient deserves to know the history of the doctor in similar cases.

On the contrary, for patients suffering with common diseases like common cold, cough etc, this would not be the best idea to conclude it from doctor's history. Just like the fingerprints of every person is unique, so is their body and its reaction to various chemicals and medicines. The medicines prescribed by the doctor may or may not work the same for everyone and so, the patient might make a wrong judgement from the doctor's records.

In conclusion,although giving access to the patients of their doctor's records seems like a lucrative option, it may backfire in some situations as discussed above. As long as the patient can make a decision with logic and by carefully studying the resources, I think handing over the records is a good option. This could be better than how people choose their doctors today just from hearsay. In fact, if properly executed and with awareness amongst the people and the doctors, this could be a really good option to have.