“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

The author argues here that the development of land by the Smith Corporation will be disastrous as the land is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife preserve. Stated in this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and seems to distort the views of the situation by manipulating the facts. To justify the argument, the author reasons that the development of the sanctuary land can be detrimental to birds living there and also to the community as it will lose a lot of tourists around the year. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's recommendation.

First of all the argument readily assumes that the wildlife preserve is essential for the survival of 300 bird species living in the wildlife preserve. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground as the author does not know if the birds are only dependent on the preserve. Some birds could be getting food from the humans as they feed them or leave food for them.

The argument readily claims that also points out that the development of the land can also lead to a decrease in tourists that come in the area. this again is a weekly supported claim as it does not take onto account that the Smith Corporation wants to use only a small piece of land to build a hotel which consequently would lead to an increase in tourists. Contrary to the author's arguments that it could be disastrous to the community, it will also generate employment in the area and invite tourists to live in the sanctuary itself which will in turn increase the revenue.

Finally the author assumes that although, the company has assured that they will be taking care of the sanctuary, they will only be harming the sanctuary which is made without any credibility or support. A careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support in several critical aspects and raises skeptical questions.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. to bolster it further, the author should provide better concrete evidence perhaps by a reliable survey of all the bird species in the land, a comparative study of the before and after situations so that people are better able to assess the situation and take a clear

stand if the comapny should be allowed to develop the land.