"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The writer of this analytical piece concludes that in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further revenues, the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. To support the claim, the writer has cited the complaints received from viewers and the cancellation of the contract between the television station and advertising company. Yet, there is certain evidence missing to reach any conclusion.

Firstly, the author states that over the past year, the late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. But the author failed to provide any statistical data to reach the conclusion. First of all, how many viewers watch late-night programs? how many complaints received before introducing changes in late-night programs concerning the less time devoted to national news? Unless this information is provided, we cannot conclude that viewers are declining and the contract was canceled due to fewer viewers.

Secondly, the author cites the complaints received from viewers concerning with our station's coverage of weather and local news. At first glance, this evidence might seem convincing. However, here the author ignores the possibility of the number of viewers may be increased. The increased number of complaints concerning the station's coverage of weather and local news is due to the increased number of viewers of the late-night program.

Finally, the author mentions that local businesses that used to advertise during late night news program of the television station have canceled their advertising contracts with us. But, we do not know whether these local businesses also have canceled their advertising contract with other television station or not? If this the case, the local businesses canceled their advertising contracts with all the television station because they see no benefit in advertising during the late-night program. So, the author's conclusion that the local businesses have canceled their contract with the television station just due to increased time allocated to national news is not credible.

In conclusion, to evaluate the author's conclusion, we need statistics data that provides the viewers before the new policy implementation and after the changes. In addition, the author should have to provide whether the local business has canceled their advertising contract with the station due to increased time devoted to national news or there is another reason. Unless this information is provided, we can not conclude that by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level is necessary to avoid losing any further advertising revenues and attract more viewers cannot be supported.