In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements withing that field.

Statement contends that in any field of endeavor, a person can contribute significantly if and only if he/she is under influence of past achievements within that field. However, past achievements within a field definitely help a person to contribute significantly. I cannot agree with the assertion that only a person who is inspired by past achievements can contribute to that field.

The chief reason why I disagree with the assertion made by the statement is that there are many people who admire achievements in the certain field, However, not all admirers are expert in that field to contribute in its development. For instance, there are many people who are influenced by achievements of ISRO (Indian Space and Research Organization) from launching satellites to Mars mission. But, very little number of them is expert in space and research field.

Secondly, there are many examples which contradict the contention made by statement. Today, there are almost all the field explored by researchers and experts. But in past, when researchers and expert started their work, there were no past achievements for them. For Example, when Sir Isaac Newton found existence of Gravity, there was no past work of other scientists for him to be inspired by.

Another reason why I cannot agree with the contention that only past achievement can inspire a person to contribute effectively in respective field. Though past achievement provides reference and motivation to the researchers, there are certain instances in which researchers have been motivated by past failures in that field. Because, it is the nature of scientists and researchers to solve problems which others were failed to solve in past.

Conclusively, according to me, it would be partially true to say that in any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field. Yet, I believe that to contribute significantly to any field, a person required some kind of inspiration whether from past achievement or past failure within that field.