In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements withing that field.

I disagree to the given argument to a greater extent. All of us know the famous saying that "Necessity is the mother of any invention". One ponders and finds new things and makes great discoveries based on the need of the hour. The idea for such an invention arises from the past contributions or an example which they notice in their day to day activities.

Moreover, if the Wright brothers did not think of the bird's flight, then they would not have discovered the aeroplane we use today to make movement from on country to another easier and takes less time. also, papers published in journals by professors get the idea from other people who have already submitted papers in well reputed journals. Furthermore, there is a line of development from the first invention to the recent inventions. The cars from olden days differs and contrasts greatly with the modern car. The automatic gear, sensors and air bags prove evidence to it. Similarly, in many other field like automobile and telecom devices also, we could witness the same.

Nevertheless, it need not be true in all the cases. For the first discovery, there could not have been a past influence. For example, Sir Isaac Newton discovered gravity by chance. it was only because of an apple falling on his head from a tree. there is no role of a past contribution in it. Further, Albert Einstein found many theories in physics which were found by chance and not from a past contribution.

Thus, in order to conclude, we can say that it depends on a field to check whether past contributions play an essential role in newer discoveries. Although, a good number of inventions need an idea from the past, it need not be true for all the cases.