For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical of our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level

The argument states that in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, public radio station should discontinue the current emphasis on Latino and world music. The argument is flawed and relies readily on vague and ambiguous assumption to draw conclusion. The author has failed to provide tangible facts and statistics to prove its claim.

To begin, the author states that the radio station has logged many complaints for un-American bias of the program. This statement is a stretch as it does not provide what exactly "many long term supporter" counts for, it puts lights on the uncertainty of the count. Furthermore, it fails to provide enough proofs or evidences that could explain the fact the complaints are soley because of the shift to Latino and world music. There could be many other reason which might have triggered this logging of complaints. It could have been strengthen if the author has provided some facts and statistics to support this claim.

In addition to it, the author claims that the current shift has called for critics from the local newspaper. Again, the absence of references published in the newspaper put this argument in the state of ambiguity. For example, the article published in the newspaper might have ridiculed the radio station for replacing some previous channel that were very much popular, which also states change and does not imply anything to allocating more time to Latin and world music.

To conclude, the author's argument to discontinue current emphasis on Latin and world music is unwarranted and draws conclusion based on vague and ambiguous statements.