Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The issue of whether the educational institute should affect student's decision of pursuing a field of study. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses. I believe, pursuing a field of study is an individual's decision and should not be influenced by anyone. Moreover, one tends to favor their field of interest as they have more knowledge of their respective fields.

Who better than the person itself has a better understanding of its interest area. Therefore, the decision to purse a particular field, subject or discipline should be made by the student itself without any intervention. Moreover, poeple change with time, a person who might not be good in academics in its early stage could outperform in the later stage. For instance, Einstein was not a prodigy in his childhood but still turned out to be as one of the eminent physicist of all time.

In addition to this, if the onus of choosing field of study is on educational instituions then there are good chances that the decision is affected. Generally, people favor their field of interest as they have spend a fair bit of time with that subject. Furthermore, one thing that has worked for someone might not be as benefical for others. For example, suggesting arts for a student who is weak in mathematics might work wonders for the student but for others it's could be disaster as they just needed an extra effort to achieve their goal rather than eliminating it all together.

Moreover, I believe educational institutions provide tools and infrastructure to students to achieve their goals in life. Rather than deviating them from their objective, they should asist them to achieve it by honing their skills and working on their weak area.

In conclusion, educational institutions should not dissuade students from pursuing their field of study as this decision should be dependent on the student's field of interest. Also, this way the decision is free of any prejudice, and inclination of other's field of study