People should not be misled by the advertising competition between Coldex and Cold-Away, both popular over-the-counter cold medications that anyone can purchase without a doctor's prescription. Each brand is accusing the other of causing some well-known,

In the preceding argument, the author claims that Cold-away is the most effective over the counter medication for cold symptoms, the conclusion is based in the following premises. Firstly, the author states that doctors prefer to use Cold-away medication more than Coldx at hospitals. Secondly, Cold-away is available in markets for longer time. Thirdly, it has minimal side effects such drowsiness in contrast increase blood pressure as a adverse effect of Coldex medication. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumptions.

To begin with, the author state a fact that Cold-away is more effective than Coldx and the evidence that undermine the assumption is the doctors prefer using it at hospitals. In other words, he fails to mention why doctors prefer using it?, how he concluded the assumption? and what is the relation between using Cold-away as a first choice drug. Perhaps this medication is cheaper and all the issue is to decrease the over all cost. In such case the assumption would be significantly weakened.

Second, even there is a good indicator that Cold-away has been longer time in the markets, this does not necessarily indicate conspicuous relation. In other words, the author fails to mention how he concluded this assumption, perhaps it has been for longer time because the factory has been present before any other ones, or perhaps people used to use this medication as an old version. So, building decision depends on weak indications is not reliable.

Thirdly, the fallacy of the argument also lies in fact that it presumes that Cold-away is better than Coldx because it has minimal side effect such drowsiness but the one fact perhaps taking it during the day will affect the people awake and productivity. In contrast, that perhaps taking Coldx with slight effect on blood pressure will never affect them and it may be good for people complain from low blood pressure.Hence, no evidence toward bolstering the conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument fails to mention one key factors. Namely, the author recommendation towards Cold-away medication is not significant and plantant. Thus, without complete information the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.