The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the grove college should abandon its old traditional system of all-female students in the college and start accepting men because coeducation will help the college to increase the number of enrollment. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that the director of alumnae opposed this proposal due to the fact that all female students system could save the identity of the college. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether all female system could maintain the identity of the college. One point that should be considered is that the identity of a college is highly dependent on its teachers and their knowledge, not all female students. In fact, this factor heightens the identity of the college because myriads of students are looking for a high ranked college. It is also important to say that maybe the director opposed the plan because of some personal gain. For example, it is easier to control the college with all female students because the number of students is limited.

The author also asserts that based on a survey, students alleged that they prefer to enroll in all female college. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question whether all students prefer to attend the segregated school. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author does not clearly mention how many students responded to the survey. Maybe a few people agreed with all female college. Or perhaps a few percents of students participate in the survey, who knows? Alongside that, this survey could be reliable and accurate owing to the fact there is a possibility that the director colludes with female students.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author the director cited to the survey that all Grove alumnae agree with all female system based on their responses. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this promise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if this survey could be accurate and reliable enough. One point that should not go unnoticed is that a skeptical attitude should be taken toward this survey owing to the fact that it could have been done many years ago. Maybe now Grove alumnae have changed their ideas and agree with coeducation.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.