"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our proposed club, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. In addition, there is ample evidence of the popularity of jazz in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly.' Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. We, therefore, predict that the C-Note cannot help but make money."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that people in Monroe City are really interested in the Jazz club and building a new club not only can attract majorities of people to the club but also can help accumulate a vast sum of money. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that the nearest jazz club is 60 miles far away from Monroe city. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether people will stop going there for jazz club by erecting a new club in Monroe. One point that should be considered is that today with the development of transportation people easily and quickly long distances. So, there would be no difficulty commuting such a distance for the nearest club. It is also important to say that a new club might not be professional enough to appeal individuals as soon as possible. Indeed, the nearest club is working for many years and well-known artists are playing there. So, it might not be a wise decision to build a new club.

Furthermore, the author contends that there are many pieces of evidence represent that crowds of people are interested in jazz, listening radio program, attend festival annually and so forth. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if these shreds of evidence can guarantee the success of the new club. One of the main, if not the only, problem with this premise is that the author does not show the exact statistic and information about people willing to attend the jazz club. Maybe many of them like to listen to radio jazz program and not to attend the club. Or maybe majorities of people prefer to attend a well-known jazz festival, not a new club in Monroe, who knows? Alongside that, although popular artists live in Monroe, there is a possibility that they do not prefer to join a new club in Monroe City.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author based on a study, people spend at least 1000 dollars for jazz entertainment. Nevertheless, the rationale behind the premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if people will spend this amount of money on the new club in Monroe. One point that should not go unnoticed is that the author mentioned people are willing to spend this money on festival or entertainment. So, there is no guarantee people prefer to spend their money for Monroe's club. Or maybe people spend their money for learning jazz to play, not attend any place.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.