The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The circumstances of Grove College entice the coeducation by the recommendation from president of Grove College because other all-female college increase applications after adopting coeducation. However, there are rejection from the alumnae association because of the identity of Grove College, primary reason that is all-female college from incoming students. However, there are three unsubstantiated evidences that don’t match with the argument; even it will be illogical to fathom. Thus, three questions should be answered in the argument.

First of all, the question need to be answered is that how does Grove College will do the same as the other all-female college. President of Grove College convinces the idea that because other all-female college adopt coeducation, they increase applicants so as Grove College does. However, it can’t be general accepted when it comes to comparison between Grove College and other all-female college. Grove College will have the different curricula from other all-female college, which means that strategy of increasing applicants by adopting coeducation can have defect. Thus, there should be explanation about how to function about coeducation.

Secondly, the question should be answered is that how many percentage do incoming students keep Grove College all female? There is only explanation some incoming students want to keep Grove College all female. It is possible to have more percentage to change the Grove College system to coeducation. Also, annual surveys of incoming students are not representative for all incoming students. Some students who registered can be only valid in the response of this annual surveys.

Last but least, the question should be answered is that how much do Grove alumnae know about the circumstances of Grove College. The director of the alumnae association contradicts president’s recommendation with the reason that keep the college all female. However, there is no specific evidence of correlation between what director asserts and why alumnae want to keep Grove College all female. Majority of respondents from alumnae keep the college all female, but it can be different reason.

In conclusion, author concludes that recommendation of president from Grove College and contradiction of the recommendation from director with unproven evidences. However, if author adduces the argument with three question answered, then the argument will be more cogent to understand to sound.