A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years.

Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood.

Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families

eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating.

Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

The Argument claims that the new seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood will be a popular restaurant and will get profits. Stated in this way the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The author have come to this conclusion based on increased consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants. The conclusion relies on several assumptions, for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing, and has several flaws.

First of all, the arguments readily assumes that the two-income families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps the families may employ chefs in their home and eat healthy food. The families might not like the outside food and only eat the home food. If any of these has merit, then the conclusion drawn from the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, the argument claims that families in bay city express more concern about healthful eating. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument doesnot demonstrate a correlation between health consciousness and profits of seafood restaurant. Perhaps, the person who is health conscious might not eat seafood. For example, the seafoods like prawns and other foods are not too good for heart patients. If the argument had provided the evidence that how sea food is healthy for persons with heart problems ,then it would have been more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author assumes that Captain seafood restaurant will have same profits as the Bay City restaurants. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, Are people in Captain seafood restaurant are same as the people in bay city area? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that claims made by author are more of a wishful thinking rather that substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey analysis of profits of Bay City restaurants. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about how the seafood restaurant should be popular and profitable.