A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument mentioned put forward claims that suggest the success of a restaurant specialized in serving seafood. But the reasons suggested for the success are not completely examined before reaching a conclusion. There are few evidences that need to be presented before assuming that the restaurant would be a success. Some of them have been highlighted below.

Firstly, the argument does not give any information on consumption of dishes other than seafood. It could be true that consumption of sea food increased by 30 percent but there might be other dishes whose consumption has increased significantly greater than seafood. Looking into the evidence for this would suggest whether there might be other dishes that the new restaurant could specialize in and gain better profits.

Secondly, the argument states that two-income families are having fewer home-cooked meals and prefer having healthful options in their meals. There are a lot of healthy options of meals on the food market. A survey needs to be conducted to understand whether such families actually prefer seafood for their meals or if there are any other healthy food options that they would like. The results of this evidence could significantly affect the profits and popularity of the new restaurant.

Lastly, since the argument speaks about the profitability of the restaurant, costs of running the restaurant should also be taken into consideration. How expensive would it be to obtain raw sea food for consumption? Is this city on coastal area or does it have any nearby fresh water bodies that reduce the cost of obtaining raw material? Also, if it is expensive to obtain raw fish, to result in profits, the restaurant should sell its dishes for a higher price. Are the people of Bay City ready to pay such high prices for seafood? Such questions need to be answered before starting a restaurant specializing in seafood.

Hence, all this evidence is needed to be evaluated before coming to a conclusion that the new Capitan restaurant will be a profitable business and make a prudent decision before establishing the business.