"A recent study of Dura-Socks customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite the socks' durability, our customers, on average, actually purchase new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, customers surveyed in our largest market — northeastern United States cities — say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

The speaker unreasonably concludes that profits can be increased just by ending the use endure manufacturing process.The state given is insubstantial and cannot be presumed to be supporting the argument.Unless,the speaker provides all the detailed information with statistical data and brief analysis with relative description this can't be a cogent argument.

Firstly,the speaker states that making a fail statement by recent study since there is no information or statistical data of the study which can give us a clear idea of customers and the company.Why does he mentions as wasting of money?He also states that the socks are strong enough to last for two years does that mean the customers actually used for so long if so that data is missing to analyse this statement.

Secondly,there was no clear information as what kind of advertisement they did for endure process?if they did was it noticed by customers as it mentions about the new study the customers buy new one's for every three months.So this nullifies that socks didn't last longer than three months.This study could have been more eloquent if the data was provided more clearly about the customers and the average refers to how many number of people it was calculated.Was there any offers during this period which made people buy although the socks last for a long timer such information is needed.

Thirdly,The survey of customers provides the information that they value dura-socks stylish appearance and availablity in many colours.Is this the reason why people buy for every three months just to change the colours for better appearence then in this case if they large varities it would definitely long for many years.The speaker also fails to provide the data as what age groups were surveyed if it was only under people who is young prefer colours and fashion where as old people don't really bother about stylish appearance.There was no detailed data as the surveys were considered before and after the endure manufacturing process.

In the conclusion,as there was no clear evidence to support the argument about the surveys was not detailed clearly with relevant data and information about the increase in profits etc.Henceforth,the argument further can't be deemed to be persuasive.