A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys

The author's argument says that recent study on rhesus monkeys unfolded some findings and proposes some supports. Nonetheless, the ideas presented in the arguments are not convincing and in what follows the most compelling controversies are going to be addressed.

First, the reading passage mentions that eighteen monkeys are considered as experimental sample for further results. However, the number of conclusions from that small community is not reliable. Indeed, if scholars want to connect the level of activities in animals to the humans, they should examine a lot of species. In this regard, a new experimental data, from Stanford University, shows that every community sample should at least contain 100 species. Hence, the survey is not trustworthy and much more samples should be added.

Second, the author's argument asserts that the function of the hormone cortisol in monkey is the same as human beings and it yields high activity. Nevertheless, by having a look at common and most reliable experiments it can be shows that mice results are more comparable to the humans that monkeys. Actually, whenever a researcher wants to validate his or her numerical or analytical results, he or she uses a mouse as experimental sample. Even though that at the first glance, it seems that monkeys are genetically the nearest animal to humans, but, mice are common. Therefore, monkeys' results does not meet the standard for experimental validation.

Third, it has been discussed that in comparison to the monkeys who had had offspring before, first-time mother, during pregnancy, have higher level of cortisol. However, the sophistry and complexity of body is more than that to be obtain such a superficial result. Admittedly, billions of millions of cells, during pregnancy period, are doing activity and the result may belong to other thing. For instance, for firs-time pregnant some other features usually appear like facial spot and laziness which has root from stress and a feeling that has never being experienced. Therefore, the connection between body structure and cortisol is superficial.

In the final analysis, as the above-mentioned examples have illustrated, it is not convincing to assign the activity of monkeys to cortisol by doing some without following standard rules like enough communal samples and the author has to fix the problems.