A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The given passage concludes that regular dental care isn't helpful in preventing tooth decay.The author draws this conclusion, from the premise, that children living in the mountain region, receive little to no dental care, suffer from fewer cases of tooth decay, as compared to the suburban children in the USA, where the people visit the dentist more often. This argument is rife with holes, and is based on several unaccounted assumptions. For example, he has assumed that the overt environmental differences between the two places, doesn't play any role in tooth decay.

Firstly, the author assumes that the factors promoting tooth decay, are equally present in the suburban regions of the USA and the Himalayan region of Nepal. He does not take into account, that the suburban regions in the USA, due to easier access to chocolates and candy, may promote tooth decay in humans. The Himalayan region on the other-hand, doesn't have as much access to these items, hence causing fewer cases of tooth decay.

Secondly, the author assumes that the only people suffering from tooth decay are children. He does not take into account the adults of the respective societies. What if in the case of the adults was different? Would the author be forced to change his view-point? This assumption would be made completely redundant, if research were to show that, within the adult population, the results were the exact opposite. In that case, the findings would suggest that the dental care was useful.

Additionally, the author states that people in the suburban areas in the USA visit the dentist an average of 1.25 times a year. There is a chance that the people suffering from tooth decay, did not even visit the dentist! This is because of the discrepancy in the average value. This average of 1.25 might also be possible, if some people visited the dentist more than 5 times a year, while others did not visit the dentist at all. Also there is no clear indication that this average of 1.25 visits a year, is that of the children. This is because he only mentions the people in suburban areas, and not necessarily the children of the suburbs.

Finally, in order to strengthen his argument and make it more cogent, he must provide us with more evidence of the actual percentage of children in both the Himalayas and suburbs of USA, suffering from tooth decay problems. He must also account for the environmental differences of the two places, and how they hinder or promote tooth decay. And lastly, he must also consider the regional availability and accessibility of chocolates and candy, which are known to be major causes of tooth decay!