A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument presented here is about the requirement of regular dental care to prevent tooth decay. It is shown that a study indicates that the children living in the mountain regions of Nepal had lower levels of tooth decay than than the children in the suburban areas in the United States. The conclusion drawn on this study, that though the children in the States visited the dentist more often than these children in Nepal, the regular dental care is ineffective. This conclusion is clearly based on fractured assumptions and hence making the conclusion flawed as described below.

Firstly, the argument says that the study was conducted on two groups: the Himalayan region of Nepal and the suburban United States. But it never mentions the age group of the children. Also, did all the children participate in the study? What was the population comparison between these demographic regions? We can't conclude about the dental health of such a huge area without taking into the major portion of the population. This assumption could have been strengthened if the study gave all the demographic details of these area, the age group, the mean and the standard deviation in the age, etc. They should have given the statistics of comparison of the children with regards to all the above factors.

Secondly, child-rearing is different in different parts of the world. A child being brought up in a mountain area will obviously have a different upbringing than a child in a suburban region. The study clearly assumes that the environment for all these children is same. This brings out the following questions. Did the children eat the same food? Are they having the same teeth cleaning habits? How much aware are the parents regarding the dental health of their children in both regions? Nothing of this sort has been identified in the study. This assumption could have been supported if the study also included the habits of these children. May be an index of variability of number of times the children clean their teeth per day may help. A study of the food that these children consume can also give insights of the reasons about the current dental health of the two regions.

Lastly, blaming only the regular dental care for taking care of the dental health in the suburban region is totally wrong. The assumption that the tooth care is only the responsibility of the dental check up is quite flawed. It may have happened that the children in these suburban regions never actually took care of their teeth outside of the check-ups. The food habits of such children may have contributed to the deteriorating dental health, but we never never know this. May be the ignorant habits of both the children and their family led to this situation. This could have supported by making the the family participate in the study. They could have asked the family about how much care they took while feeding particular food to the children.

In the end, the argument in its current form is totally flawed. It ignores many factors essential to dental health care, thus arriving to the mentioned weak and biased conclusion.