A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal re

It is concluded -that regular dental care is not helpful for preventing tooth decay-the basis that children in suburban areas visit the dentist more than those in Himalayan region and yet they have more tooth decay. However, there are some question that need to be answered to consider this conclusion valid.

A study was conducted on the basis of which conclusions were drawn. However, the validity of the study conducted is missing. The conductor of the study, duration of the observations and the conditions in which it was carried out are not clearly mentioned. For example, the age of the children observed may be different in both the countries thus causing the discrepancies in the result. Also it is solely mentioned that the levels of decay were lower, but there might be a possibility that they are not significantly lower which may change the perspective of the results. The lack of clarity over the validity of the study make the above mentioned explanation invalid.

The given study and the observations also assume that it the conditions in both the regions were same. It may be possible that due to climatic conditions, elevations and other factors the results are varied: which has hardly anything to do with the frequency of the visits to a dentist. In fact, the levels of tooth decay in the children of the United States may be the best that can be achieved given the food and drinks they consume. These facts make a strong point towards the rejection of the idea that regular dental care is not helpful.

It is also mentioned that there is no professional dental care available in Himalayan mountain region in Nepal. It may be possible that the general doctors there are capable of mitigating the damage of the decay without the support of the specialist dental care. It might also be the possibility that the dentists in the United States are not skilled as those in the other region. This would be the reason behind the higher levels of the decay in the United States' children. The given information has no clear mention of these factors and thus concluding that visits to the dentists are ineffective seems invalid.

All the above mentioned facts make a strong case for the fact that the given information is not adequate to conclude that regular dental care is ineffective for preventing tooth decay.