The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In dev

Young people are the future of any society. They are the ones responsible for the development of their society and its people. These young people are mainly motivated by their elders, parents or the role-models of the society. Thus, the society's contemporary can be understood by the trends in the thoughts of the young people. However, this may not be true everytime.

Young crowd of a society is the driving force behind the development of the society. These young people strive hard for the well-being of their society.Their actions are in sync with those of their elders-parents or other members of the society-who have contributed to the society in a positive manner. If one studies the actions of the elder leaders or representative of the society, the trends of the youth can be predicted with significant accuracy. For instance, a town in India popularly known as 'military village'had atleast one member of the family served in the defence forces of that country. This tradition is still extant and it can be easily predicted that the young members of the society are still pursuing the dream of serving the nation. Such examples are well observed around the globe. These trends may get slightly changed according to the advancing of the world, but are predictable.

These may not be true at all the times though. The conditions of the region may not remain the same over the years. For example, the social atmosphere may alter the choice of the young ones to study abroad rather than to study in their own country like their parents. In such cases it may get difficult to analyze the trends. Due to the advancement in technologies and science, the young people are exposed to vast information. They may use this information and few of them might prefer to walk on a path which is unknown in their society. This shift in the trend is unpredictable. Thus, studying these trends for understanding the culture of the society would be anything but effective.

All the points discussed above point to the fact that in certain cases the youth are motivated by the events outside their society. It may be possible that some young people in socities still follow the footsteps of their elder. Thus, the most effective way for understanding the contemporary of the socities may or may not depend on the trends of the society.