Claim Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts Reason Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public Write a

Government officials and politicians are bound to think of the welfare of their people. Their decisions should not only help its citizens but also try to be helpful for a peaceful world. The public decisions often fail to consider the broader aspect of the result. Given the abundance of resources the government officials have, the people have a weaker hand in making decisions. Thus the government officials are the ones who should take the major policy decisions.

Politicians and government officials are well aware of the conditions prevailing at the regional as well as international level. They are well informed about the world politics. When certain policy decisions are made, every aspect of the politics is taken into consideration. If general public is allowed to make decisions, the chance of those causing harm is more than that of development. People tend to think about only their locality, some may think only about the issues concerning their own family. Government on the other hand plans for everyone. For example, consider a government decides to implement an economic reform throughout the country. The decision seems to the people as a useless one and hence people speak against it. They are concerned about their daily expenses that would get affected. But the government knows that the international political conditions in existence would significantly improve the country's economy and in-turn help the people. Such policies, if implemented by taking public opinion are certain to hinder the growth of the country.

Government officials and politicians also consider the past while making certain decisions. They study the similar events occurred in the past and try to decide their views for a current scenario by evaluating previous ones. General public on the other hand have a tendency to overlook the history and focus more on the present. Further, the government has experts in the concerned fields. Their experiences, studies and understanding of the issue at hand helps a lot while formulating certain policies. General public are deprived of the experience and the understanding and thus are ineffective while making such decisions. For example, certain group of people demands for educational reform in the society. The public suggest reserving some seats for the poor in the country. The government experts predict an economic boom in the country, and forecast an improvement in the wealth of the society. The government sees the suggestion as a bleak since after the economic growth everyone could afford better education. If the government would have listened to the public, it might have resulted in an unfruitful decision and might have the government a lot.

Thus, major policy decisions should be left for the politicians and government officials.