"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

In this argument, the author urged to consider that there exists a relationship between hours of sleep and the productivity of the firm. To support his recommendation, he cited that employees sleeping lesser than 6 hours daily are good enough for a business to prosper. I find this argument unconvincing and not cogent for some reasons.

First, the author states that there is an association between employees sleeping hours and the success of their firm. This claim cannot be accepted as it stands. It is equally possible to assume that the success of the firm depends upon the employee performance and the amount of work given to them within the specified time. Perhaps, the employee benefits given by the firm also play a crucial role in the successful organization. For example, Google.Inc does not have the specific timings for the employees to come and leave the office and on the top, they provide the sleeping pods where employees can sleep if they feel tired during working hours. Consequently, the results given by the employee are impeccable which determine the growth of their company. While the brief statement of company performance is contingent on the employee sleep timings, it does not deficit between what is stated and what there is there to evident for it and is too large to the overlooked. This ultimately causes a week argument that will count against the authors conclusion.

Second, the argument hypothesized that the company should hire the employees that sleep lesser than 6 hours per night so that their business can bolster. This assumption is unwarranted. The correlation between sleep and work does not prove the causation for the business to prosper. As the author talks about the advertising firm, it comprises of work that can be done within the office premises rather than going out in the field. In the absence of the commutation, the level of tiredness is lessor in desk-job with comparison to the field- work where employees have to travel to different locations, which is exonerating. According to the science, a person needs to sleep atleast 8 hours daily to give their optimum performance through out the day and by reducing the hours of sleep, the employers are directly compromising on their performance at work. Therefore, this assumption is overgeneralized and the authors' argument lacks compelling and affluent reasons to convince his proposal.

However, the argument showed the recent study which claims that employees who sleep less make more profit margin. But the author never discusses the kind of males and females participating. It is easier for the bachelor employees to sleep less before heading back to work but it tends to be difficult for the married and even more tedious with the couples having kids. Also, location players the important role for the employee as greater the traveling they have to do, lessor is the time they get to relax, hence effecting on their work-performance. Hence the author is flawed in a way that he fails to substantiate his conclusion with the strong evidence and is termed with poor reasoning.

In conclusion, this is an ambiguous argument. To strengthen it, the author must at very least offer the concrete perhaps by the survey participating the employees (single and married) and the employers to show the evidence for his correlation between the sleeping hours of employees and the faster growth of the business.