"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

In this argument the author urge to consider that with increase in population of Balmer Island, there is an increase in accident involving moped and pedestrians, therefore, the town council should put the restriction on the number of moped rented during summer season. To support this recommendation, he states that the same is been done by Seaville town council when they acknowledge the same reason for their road accidents. I find this argument unconvincing for some reasons.

First, the author presupposes that the accidents between mopeds and pedestrians is because of the error made by moped drivers. It is entirely possible to assume that pedestrians can also become the cause of the accidents. There is separate lane designated for mopeds of extreme left and right of the roads in Balmer Island with the traffic light facilities. Perhaps it is also possible that pedestrians somehow neglected the traffic lights and come on the moped lanes, which could be a cause of accident. Also the island is more attracted to tourist than locals for their shopping and party culture which is why foreigners, unknown of island's traffic rules, could involve in the accidents. Therefore, it is a presumption to say that moped accidents are a cause of the error made my moped drivers only.

Second, Author speculated that the action taken by Seaville council in limiting the rented moped resulted in decrease of accidents by 50%. This assumption is unwarranted. The roads of Seaville island are narrow and not well maintained. Also resident of that island does not follow the traffic rules properly due to the leniency in their traffic law. According to the statistics there are 40 % more accidents there in comparison with Balmer island and therefore Enforcing the law for restricting the moped makes sense for public and tourist safety. On the other hand, Balmer island, due to the strict traffic laws, Accidents are lesser and contained within the area only where there is plethora of tourist. Hence, after carefully scrutinizing the situation, the argument is logically flawed.

In this argument, author used the wrong reversal flaw which is defined that what happens to A, the same cannot be happening to B. Hence the argument unsubstantially hypothesize that the decision made by Seaville must be allied to Balmer island as well but is fundamentally wrong as discussed above.

In conclusion this is not a strong argument. To bolster is future the author must provide the concrete evidence, perhaps by the way of reliable investigation, that whether there is a need to restrict the rented moped or is educating the tourist enough to reduce the further accident involving pedestrians.