Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

In this argument the author urge to consider that salicylates can be the casue of reduced headache for the residence of Mentia. To support this recommendation, he cited the study of ten years which reveals the correlation betwen the reduced headache and use of Salicylates. While some people agree to this, I find this argument unconvincing for some reasons.

First, the author states that food industry is using Salicylates at food preservatives and food additives which he affirms to be the reason why resident of mentia are having reduction of headache complains. Here, Correlations does not proves causation. It is entirely possible that the cause for headache reduction is something else, perhaps their healthy life-style as Mentia is a small town. It is also possible to assume that the denizens did not reported for repeated headaches and they might have found a home-made remedy for this malady. Therefore, reports might not be measured right. While, the brief statement of the ten year study and use of salicylates correlation seems to appear a robust idea , it deficit between what stated and what there is evidence for it is too large to be overlooked. Thhis ultimately cause a week argument that will count against author conclusion.

Second, author hypothesized that the mentia people will suffer from fewer headaches in future as states by the health expert. This assumption is unwarranted. It is equally possible to assume that the reason for their fewer headache is be related to the use of aspirin as salicylates and Aspirin both fell in same chemical family. Therefore, this assumption is overgeneralization and author's argument lack compelling and affluent reasoning to convince the proposal of fewer headache in future for the residents of Mantia.

However, Author is flawed in a way that he fails to substantiate his conclusion with strong evidence and is teemed with poor reasoning. The careful perusing of the evident provide in the argument reveals that many questions have been left unanswered without which the reader cannot consider it to be consequential.

In conclusion, this is not a strong argument. To bolster it, the author must, at very least, provide the concrete evidence regarding the cause of headache and the remedy chosen by the resident of mantia, whether is it home-made or a consultation by heath clinic, perhaps by the survey, which will strengthen the author's claim.