"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above argument points to the increasing use of salicylates, and correlates how to has lead to decreased headaches, and thus comes to the conclusion that headache will keep on decreasing. However the statements glosses over and rushes to a premptive conclusion without giving specific consideration to other possible factors and does not bother to scrutinize its examples.

The study first points to the similarity between aspirin and salicylates to insidously suggest that salicylates can perform the same activity as an aspirin. I use the word “insidious” to point out that this statement is dangerously misleading. Various chemicals of the same family have been found to perform disparate activities in various circumstances. Just because salicylates composition is similar to aspirin, does not inherently suggest that it would not end up poisoning your body. A scientific study needs to be carried out to get a full understanding of the effects of salicylates.

The presence of salicylates in natural food products is stated, and then it points to the increase in added salicylates leading decreased headache. However, the amount of salicylates added is not specified. It could very well be the case that the amount being added is insignificant to the amount already presence in the food, so in other words the intake of salicylates may not have changed significantly. And thus we cannot come to the conclusion that decreased number of headaches was due to salicylates.

Even if the intake of salicylates has increased in Mentia, as is implied in the argument, there is not enough evidence to indicate salicylates as the contributing factor to decreased headaches. The argument mistakes correlation with causation. Perhaps other factors have also changed during this last twenty years, any of which could have contributed to the decreased headaches. The study mentioned should be elaborated. There should have been a control group within that study, which could have lead us to make an empirical analysis on the effects of salicylates.

Salicylates may very well have been a contributing factor to decreased headache. But, the above argument is biased to a premptive conclusion and fails to point to a scientific correlation. And thus does not provide sufficient evidence and examples to convince us to come the study’s desired conclusion.