A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The process of education for our young generation has always been a debatable one. We are still trying to work out the correct combination, that would provide the best possible education. And thus we have various curriculum systems in most countries, now should the government intervene and impose just the national curriculum? I think not. I understand the attractiveness of a fixed national curriculum. It provides an uniform field to judge all students. That is the more financially blessed students would not be able to garner advantages in this curriculum as every one has to study the same thing. But at the same time we cannot ignore that fact that uniform field means that diversification of education is impeded. And why is diversification neccessary? Well in this every evolving world, a country's work force can challenge the world market only if it has peoples of disparate educational back grounds. Also we cannot ignore the fact that sometimes national curriculum has a tendency to force some strict subjects, while entirely igonring others. Like in the Bangladesh education system has no Arts subject or French language course. Of course this are not a neccessity for Bangladesh, however some students may require or want education in those subjects. Now if Bangladesh imposed strict national curriculum, there would not have been any way to learn those courses which could have been detrimental. Now there are some basic subjects which we can not ignore. For example, mathematics and the native language and to some extent, English are basic courses that each and every students has to learn. But this constraints can be imposed without having a fixed national curriculum. The government just has to impose some rules in other curriculums. Fixed national curriculum also prevents introspection into its own curriculum. Just as I stated in the begining we are still are to find the correct mixture for our education system. So every curriculum has to constantly scrutinize its education system to find loopholes and shortcommings. It can be difficult to do as such when you do not have a different education system that is doing things better or differently. Overall, while a fixed national curriculum has some advantages, its inherent characteristic to preclude education diversity, means we cannot have just a fixed national curriculum. Other curriculums are required to challenge its shortcomings and provide alternative to students requiring a different form of education.