To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society is often described as the association of groups of people living together. So where would you expect to find the most number of people? The answer is obvious, and while there are people living outside the city; it is imperative to analyze major cities in order to identify the characteristics of a society.

Major cities are the places where civilisation as we know today was born and developed. They have always been the forefront of development and change. Throughout history the Kings and head of States were always inclined to live in major cities. This resulted in the important decisions of an entire country to be passed down from major cities. Furthermore scholars have usually lived in major cities, so here inchoate ideas were formed that eventually went on to influence generation of people that came afterwards.

While people do live outside major cities, but the proportion is small and that number is dwindling, as people are more and more are becoming attracted to major cities. Here opportunities are ripe and diverse. In the countryside or the small cities, the diversity of people with respect to the work they do, or race is minimal. It is difficult to infer the structure of a society from looking at just a single village or small city. However major cities offer a periscopic vision into the life and culture of an entire country. Here we would be able to find samples of all varying work groups and race in a single platform. We also get to observe the interactions within people of varying background in this milieu.

So while the social interactions in the countryside maybe a little different, it is evident that it is restricted. On the other hand cities provide a vast and disparate social structure within a single platform and ultimately remains the driving force that determines the characteristics of past, present and future social structure.