The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The best way to prepare the young generation for their inevitable challenges is a hotly debated topic, with fervent supporters of disparate methods present in all sides. The statement above states that the best way to prepare is through cooperation. While competition does have its merits, I firmly believe that cooperation is the only way to achieve a better society.

First of all we have to take a look at the fruits of a proper competition. Without it we would not get a high achieving student or a studious employee. In absence of competition, there would not have been a driving force for students or emplyees to perform better. Furthermore, we cannot ignore that some people perform better when they are working alone. Perhaps involvement of other people causes a distraction, or they cannot come to terms with the opinions of other people, regardless they just perform better solo.

However, while for nuclear projects one person may be able to get the job done. But what about macro scale projects, like running a government or a multinational company, surely they cannot be operated by a single person. There will always be influential people who will get the attention, people like Barack Obama, Bill Gates, but Bill Gates alone did not run microsoft. Every leader has a team of diverse individuals working either for or with them, so that an organization or country can run smoothly. Bill Gates did not compete with his fellow emplyees to make microsoft what it is today, rather he cooperated with them to ensure that microsoft were producing the best software possible.

Furthermore, one cannot ignore the sense of brotherhood and unionship that can be formed by working together. When you are in a state of constant competition, it can mean many lonely hours of tiresome work. While working together means that one can share the burden of responsibility and also have some fun while you are at it. Also there are some problems which may to be detected by a single person. For example if a person is designing a software, there could have been bugs within the software that can elude a single eye. But if a group is working at it then surely that bug could be detected by someone working in that group.

Overall, competition is required for self development at an early stage or perhaps even when working in micro projects. But whenever we face gigantic projects or problems, single individuals working separately is not a pragmatic solution. Many minds working together can garner fruitfull result while also becoming less stressful for a single individual. So cooperation is the only way forward.