The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The director feels that by increasing advertising budget the movie production company would be able to do better promotion of movies which will eventually lead to greater people attending the movies. Since the memo was given by an advertising director, he is biased towards improving his own budget, so we carefully need to scrutinize his observations and logic.

He states that fewer people are attending the movies, and he sites his own marketing department as reference. But it is highly likely that this marketing department is biased towards proving that there are fewer people attending the movies, as than they can ask for greater budget. A third party source needs to be referenced to verify this fact.

The memo also states that the percentage of positive reviews has increased. But if fewer people are attending the movies that means that only the fervent fans of Super Screen Movie are going to the movies. And those fans are likely to give a positive review for the movie regardless of its quality. Which means that, Sun Screen Movies are generating the same amount of positive reviews as before, but this time among a fewer group of people, which would lead to increased percentage of positive review. But the quality of movies may, in reality detoriated, since fewer people are watching them. And of course we need to analyse the reviews themselves, as in who are actually writing them. The sources needs to be specified in order to ensure that they are not coming from within the production company itself.

Then there is the possibility that people are just not interested in movies anymore. Perhaps they have found other sources of entertainment that meets there current criteria. The memo needs to site that people are still seeing movies from their other companies to verify that people are still interested in movies, otherewise promotion will not get them any further.

Perhaps advertising may help Super Screen Movie, but from the above memo we cannot say as such with confidence. The motivation of the director is questionable, maybe he just wants to increase his budget. Or perhaps advertising is not the problem, perhaps Super Screen just needs to improve the quality of its movies, or maybe the people are just not interested in movies anymore, the memo does not provide sufficient information to absolve the above stated doubts. So the director needs to provide further information before we can come to his intended conclusion.