The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The above argument correlates decreased weather and local news time to decreased viewerships and revenues. However, the argument overlooks many other possible factors as well as providing insufficient examples to arrive to such a conclusion.

The above argument does not mention that viewers' complain regarding local and weather coverage is due to the shortage of coverage time. A viewer can complain about many diverse things, perhaps the quality of the news has detoriated, or quit simply they could be complaining because ther favorite news anchor is not covering anymore. The fact is the television station should scrutinize the complains diligently and act accordingly rather than coming to their own foreborn conclusion, as it could even be the case that the only reason they are still watching the station is due to their national news coverage.

A business can cancel advertising contract due to a plethora of issues. The statement above should mention the issue which lead them to come to their conclusion. Perhaps the economy is bad and the local businesses cannot afford the luxury of television advertisements, maybe the businesses are planning to shift elsewhere due to decreased population of that particular place, maybe people do not bother to turn on television anymore thanks to the advant of internet or perhaps the quality of television coverage has detoriated or they voiced an unpopular opinion leading to the people shunning the television station. The point is the possibilities are endless. Again the manager has to analyse the specific reason or the television station would not be able to solve there conundrum.

The argument above mentions patches of problems and jumps to a very specific conclusion that may not neccessarily be the correct one. The statement above should contain specific examples while also providing particular reasons for which the manager drew to the conclusion.