The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art

department at the college.

“In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an

internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40

percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs,

located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a

number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is

sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible

working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design

business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of

Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in

a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art

students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order

to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate

the recommendation.

The above letter suggests that all art students should complete internship in Skyway Design before graduation as it is the best way to ensure after graduation success. However the rigidity of the above letter and its suspicious biasness towards a single firm means that we have to carefully scrutinize the above letter, and question whether the above mentioned recommendation is the only way towards success.

Firstly, we need to question the survey of college graduates. How many participants were in that survey? What were the questions asked? And why does the survey's result not match with reality. If 90 percent did agreed for internship why did only 40 percent complete internship. The letter above needs to address is glaring discrepency first before arguing any further that the students want internship.

The letter then goes on about the suitability of Skyway Design. While its location nearby Linford city does provide a convinience for student, as this means student will not have to spend too much time travelling to their internship location, their claim that they can provide internship in various fields needs to be further specified. There are of course a lot of disparate subjects within art and surely a single company cannot provide work for all those subjects so the specific subject needs to be specified. Also a single company cannot provide for all the art students of Linford College, it is just not practical. A company can not afford to take in that many interns. The number of interns that can be taken by Skyway Design needs to be specified.

Skyway Design cannot be the only company that provides internship opportunity. Surely there are other company's available. The claim of the letter that Skyway Design is the best design company, is not backed up by irrifutable facts. The letter just sites that 80 percent business in Linford City used their service, but what about other cities. You cannot name a company best just because of its dominance in one city. Maybe there are no other prominent company in Linford City resulting in the monopoly.

Overall, the letter above is too biased and rife with questions to argue in their favor. Perhaps internship could benefit some students, and perhaps Skyway Design is a good place for internship. But to suggest that all student complete their internship in just Skyway Design is not a pragmatic solution.