Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

The topic of education is a hotly contested one. As a society we are still trying to find the right mix to provide the best education system possible. Among the many debates within education system, university education is an ubiquitous one, more specifically the accessibility of university education. The above statement suggests university education should be funded by the government in case of lack of availability of personal funds. While that may seem like a quixotic measure to take, given the many practical problem a Government is likely to face to undertake such a mammoth task, nevertheless I do believe that such should be the course of action for the government.

Education is among the basic needs for a human being, and it is also quintesential for a society to function properly. While many may feel such does not apply for university education, and as a matter of fact that may be true for many individual, but if an individual is capable and willing to undertake university education, then he or she should be given the opportunity to have university education. Financial constraint should not be a hindrance for this process. After all education should not be limited to just the priveledged few, as such will not just be unfair for a poorer student, but will also be detrimental for an university, as they will be deprived from a potentially talented individual who might have been a beacon for the university itself.

Detractors of the above statement will point to the practicality of such an undertaking. Afterall, university education is not cheap, and the number of students who cannot afford university education are not just a handful either, so naturally this is a financially taxing program to take for many governments. However, Scandanavian countries have shown that such undertakings are possible, and not only that, it can prove to be highly beneficial for the country as a whole as well. As greater accessibility to education leads to more educated public which eventually leads to a more financially sound government. Many may argue that Scandanavian countries are rich to begin with, so they can afford such undertaking, however such is not true. Even Bangladesh, a third world country provides government subsidised public university. So if a government can balance the budget, university education can be provided to those who cannot afford it.

Overall, providing free university education can be a difficult task, but Scandanvian countries have provided tuition free university education and even Bangladesh can afford to subsidise university education, so it proves that given enough will, such undertakings are possible. And in the long run the cost will eventually be covered as the country will be awarded with more talented citizens, who could have been lost from our radar just beacuse of his inability to finance his education.