Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It seems in this current world of fast communications, where we get to know what is happening at the opposite end of our globe instantly, scandalous news seems to be the only kind that pecks mass public attention. That is understandable of course, human minds were not made to process the news of all seven billion people instantly, so our process of filtering out news leaves us with the most scandalous ones. However, just because a certain subject garner greater attention, it does not necessarily ensure the most convenient outcome for that scenario.

When a subject receives greater attention, it leads to greater number of people being involved to solve it. Which can be a very important aspect in solving a problem. As was the case in the Chernobyll nuclear disaster, where hundreds of people got involved to mediate the damage of nuclear disaster. If the involvement of people were fewer, the situation could have ended up being much more dire than it already was. But at the same time we do not need to look further than the fire in Gulshan, Dhaka, to know that involvement of too many people does not always ensure a favourable result. As the fire piqued too many people’s interest everyone gathered around the building hindering the fire fighters from doing their duty. Also sometimes when a lot of people are involved, it could lead to a motley of opinions which could divert us from the required solution.

When an event reaches the “scandalous” status, people often rush to solve it. While time is of the essence for disaster management scenarios, often times we need to respect a problem and give it sufficient time to solve. All modern video games are guilty of this phenomena. When the GTA V, a very popular video game, came out in 2013 it was filled with bugs in the game. If developers gave sufficient time to solve it such would not have been the case.

And then there are times when human beings are swayed by raw emotions. This is ubiquitous in celebrity scandals, where people thrash a celebrity in social media for doing an activity against the norm. But there are far more disastrous consequences as well. Mob assaults which is the result of too many people, rushing to solve a problem in a method which they deem justified and swayed by emotions are the perfect example where scandals can lead to terrible human consequences.

Scandalous events lead to greater attention to that particular event, and greater attention can sometimes lead to better outcomes. However, for a lot of the cases it becomes inimical for an even-handed solution. So most of the time it is better to take a more sound and sober approach to solving an issue.