"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The above argument implies greater level of stimulation for first born individuals based on a study on monkeys. While such may very well be the case, however, due to the lack of sufficient evidence provided in the argument we can not arrive to such a conclusion.

The conclusion of the argument is derived from a study of just eighteen monkeys. The number is too low to give such an expansive conclusion. And of course the study is carried out on monkeys, while human’s and monkey’s have a lot of similarity, it does not necessarily mean that is particular condition will hold true for both oragnism.

First born monkeys are shown to have greater stimulation, however, since this monkeys are infants it could be a very likely scenario that the youger monkeys that were under test were far younger to understand the need for stimulation. For example a human baby of 2 months old can be carried by any individual as they lack the intelligence to differentiate between human beings, however a one year old human baby will definitely cry out when faced with an unknown individual. The above study does not provide sufficient evidence to prove that the younger sibilings were simply not mature enough to respond.

The argument sites only one interaction of first born humans to arrive to the conclusion of stimulation. But stimulating situation is not just about meeting your parents after an absence, it encompases mnay other things such as changes in environment, meeting new individuals and many more. So the argument needs to refer to more such scenarios.

The greater level of cortisol found in first time mothers could be the result of mother’s unfamiliarity when dealing with pregnancy, but that does not necessarily imply that such hormones gets passed down to the offspring. The author does not provide any evidence for that.

And lastly, the authors rests his entire argument on stimulation being dependent on hormone cortisol, but stimulation could be dependent on other chemicals as well. Cortisols may not be the only determing factor.

The increased stimulation of eighteen infant monkeys, and first born individuals swayed the author to believe in increased stimulation in first born. However, the small sample, lack of sufficient variety of stimuating conditions, lack of evidence between similarities of humans and monkeys and using just hormone cortisol as the only reference for stimulations makes the conclusion debatable.