"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above argument states a recent problem of Central Plaza, and identifies skateboard users as the only one culpable for their misfortunes. But the above argument suffers from myopic logic and lacks suffient example to compel us to arrive to their conclusion.

The decrease in shoppers in plaza is a general trend of the modern world due to the advent of online shopping. Many people prefer to shop at the comfort of their home. Geographical location could be a factor as well, perhaps people who used to shop at that plaza has shifted their home at a different location, or perhaps a rival shop has opened nearby and has diverted all the customers. The point is possibilities are endless. The statement does not bother to look at other potential factors.

The argument above does not give sufficient evidence to link the increasing popularity of skateboard with the increasing number of skateboard users in the plaza. It could very well be the case that skateboard users obtain their gear somewhere else. The argument does not reference any skateboard shop or any similar location within the plaza, so why would skateboard users visit the plaza. The statement has to mention incentives for skateboard users to visit the plaza, and refer location where the skateboard users are visiting to make their above statement more understandable. Right now it is difficult find to the link between increasing popularity of skateboard to increasing presence of skateboard users within the plaza, which is clearly implied in the statement.

Littering and vandalisim could very well be a cause for decreasing shoppers in the central plaza. There are numerous possible factors that lead to increase in litter and vandalisim, perhaps the security guards and cleaners are not performing their duty as dilligently as they should, perhaps the neighbourhood had an advent of delinquents, which may or may not include skaters. However, there is not a single example given which could make one believe that only skaters are responsible for this.

Prohibiting skaters could lead to further decrease in shoppers in the plaza. Who knows, since skateboarding is the new trend and the argument seem to imply that there are a lot of skateboard users within the plaza, so baning them will definitely lead to further depreciation of customers according to their logic.

There are a lot of reasons for decreasing shopers in the plaza, the above statement does not even bother to rule out any other possibility except for blaming it harshly on skateboard users. And of course the statement does not provide sufficient evidence to prove that skaters are going to the shop in the first place let alone causing problems. So it is imprudent to blame the central plaza’s misfortune on skateboard users and believing that simply banning them will lead to a return of heydays.