Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A Palean basket was found in a region outside its common habitat. And while such discovery could very well lead to the conclusion that the basket was not unique to Palea, however, the argument lacks sufficient evidence to arrive at such a conclusion.

For starters the basket found could have been made in Palea and just have drifted off by natural factors to Lithos. Previously such baskets were found only around Palea, Lithos is not far off from Palea. As the author states a river is all that stands between Lithos and Palea so the basket could easily have been washed off from Palea to Lithos by the river, with the assistance of natural factors such as floods, earthquakes or even it could even have been carried off by fish or birds. The author did not provide sufficient evidence to discount these possibilities.

The author states that the Brim river is deep and broad however, the author is talking about the current time. I am sure we can all name a few rivers that do not exist anymore while at the same time name a few that surfaced in the past century. So perhaps this river did not exist at the time of the Paleans and people could have simply walked to Lithos. Or perhaps the river did exist but was shallow and narrow and people did not have the requirement of complicated technology to cross such river. So the author needs to provide ironclad Geographical and meteorological proof of the existence of river Brim at the time of the Palean village.

If we assume that the river Brim did exist at the time of our concern, can we really conclude that the Paleans had no means to cross it due to lack of existence of Palean boats? Or what makes us conclude that there were no Palean boats, to begin with? They may have existed but their evidence could have been wiped out due to the above stated natural factors. Or maybe the Paleans had another means of crossing the river that is unknown to us. The point is we cannot conclusively say that the Paleans could not have had any means to cross river Brim just from the argument presented by the author.

The timespan of the village of Palea and that of Lithos has not been specified. So there could be a possibility that the village of lithos grew much later than the village of Palea and by then the Palean woven baskets may have become ubiquitous around the world. Or the village of Lithos itself may have been brought about by the Paleans themselves and thus the people of Lithos inherited the woven baskets.

Perhaps Palean basket was not unique to Palea, perhaps it originated from a different place, who knows maybe even Lithos could be the birthplace of Palean basket. However, the argument provided by the author does not sufficiently prove that Palean basket was not unique to Palea.