In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The argument above states that the municipal should devote more money to cities riverside recreational facilities, just because of supposed interest in water sports. However, the argument above is rife with holes to arrive to such a conclusion.

First of all we need to scrutinize this survey which ranks water sports as Mason city's favorite recreational activity. They state this inspite of telling us later on that water sport is a rare event in Mason city. So how can dwellers claim that they love water sport when they do not even perform such activities. The article needs to point out that many of the city's residents travel outside to carry out such activities, then it can be more believable that the residents love water sports.

The survey itself needs to be clearly stated as in, what was the survey about? Which questions were asked that lead the author to believe that the residents loved water sports. While cleaner river might be beneficial for the city. But we need to get the context for the cities lack of devotion in maintaining riverside recreational facilities. Perhaps there were other more urgent matters that required their attention. Maybe they did not have enough budget, or people just wanted the government to do other things and were not concerned with the state of the river.

The point is we cannot simply say that the governments indifference to maintain the river was standing as a hindrance to the residents from participating in water sports, which is what the author is implying. The complaints for the quality of river water, maybe a recent phenomena. The author does not give a clear time from which this complaints began. Perhaps the water recently became pugancious, and that is the sole reason for complaint. Maybe the water was fine before but people still did not care to use the river for water sport. In conclusion, cleaner water will definitely be better for the environment and the city, however, it does not necessarily mean that water sport activity will increase.

The above argument does not give sufficient clear evidences of the Mason city dwellers interest in water sports. It just gives us circumstantial evidence. Also governments lack of interest in cleaning the river may not be the primary factor for the cities lack of activity with regards to water sports. Cleaner river will not necessarily mean a boom for water sports in Mason city. So devoting more money may not be the wiser course of action, as that money could be used to solve other more urgent problems.