Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational Institutions have a responsibility to train students so that they can face the complexities and quandries of adult life to the best of their ability. So at first glance one is inclined to think that students should be protected from pursuing fields that may lead them to have a difficult adult life. But is the situation really that simple?

Educational institutions play a huge role in developing and shaping students, so it is also within their responsibility to understand a students strengths and weakness and thus encourage students to take the path most suitable for each individual. However, this is clearly a very idealistic claim. For starters once you start to forcibly guide a student to certain path, juvenile minds have a tendency to rebel. The hippie culture of the 1970s was born as a result of the rebellion against the strict rigid and well mannered culture that their parents enforced on them. So dissuading a student from a certain field might lead them to pursue it instead.

Then of course their is the connundrum of how do you know your student. The behavior or the insterests they exhibit infront of educational institution may not be a true representative of their actual characteristics. It is quiet known that people change their behaviors to carter to the needs of their immediate milieu, and students are more prone to that.

No people can claim that they are the same person that they were as a child. People’s characteristics behaviors and interests all change from their tender age. So how are instituitions to know that the field of study that is a weak point today may end up being their strong point tomorrow. And in retrospect students should never be dissuaded from challenging their weak points, as doing as such will help them grow and mature as a human being.

Protecting our juveniles from suffering is among the fundamental driving force of human race. So it is understandable that we would not want students to suffer by ensure that they do not choose a field that would lead to them having a difficult life. However, it is very difficult to know which path would lead to such a scenario, and very difficult to implement even if it was possible. So educational institution should not prevent students from pursueing their weak fields, rather they should preapare them for all scenarios so that students could handle a difficult situation with the least amount of difficulty.