Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The topic education of student has been a long elusive one, people have been constantly changing curriculums, introducing new rules and systems and than dissembling that very same rule. And university education itself, has not been spared from this ever shifting education dilemma. From the outskirts it may seem simple, university should be educating students to a specific field. But with the onset of real life deleriums, the situation does not seem so straight forward.

In university student wants to master a particular course. So learning a different course could be a distraction and sometimes may even become a hindrance to the original intended field of study. For example, many student cannot deal with the burden of analysing Shakespear while concurrent solving partial differential equation, and thus may eventually end up not learning either of the topic. And there is of course the utility factor, will a literature student ever have to solve partial differential equations? But with that being said we cannot make the same argument for basic mathematics or accounting topics. Let us face it, there will come a time when our literature student in question will have to submit his tax return.

Learning variety of courses will help prepare students for the multi-faceted problems that they will have to face in the real world. If an Engineering student would have a basic understanding of economy he would curtail his design to make a more feasible device. He would be more valued by his employer’s because of consideration of factors seemingly outside his scope. He would also need to have language skills to articulate his plans to intended clients.

Also in this ever changing market we never know when our expertise becomes less sought off. It will not harm then to have some knowledge in a different field which would be more propitious financially. We are also tasked to collaborate constantly on multiple fields, so it would beneficial for all parties if everyone has a basic understanding of what another individual is trying to put forward.

Overall its true that learning a variety of subject can be a hindrance and occasionally futile. However, in our modern world we don’t know what will become useful. So basic understanding of various field should be known to students so that they can better prepare for the challenging world.