Task-Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

A leader's effectivity should be judged on the basis of how morally scrupled and progressive he/she is about the cause he/she supports. Not that one should be martinet in every decision one makes but having a sound ethics is a must.

The statement comparing having moral judgement and being respected by followers is seriously lacking some points. The certainty of this statement can be assured by begging a question-why do we actually need a leader? why can't we make our own decision with everyone having same deisgnation in a group? Well, with having thousands of people fighting for a cause, it's pretty natural to have cluster of ideas coming from thousands minds. So how do we filter out which idea we should go with everyone holding same authority? There comes the necessity of having a leader. This position is further cleared by recalling some events-if Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, prime minister of Bangladesh (1971) wasn't there to take a position on which side should all east pakistani should take during the 1971 liberation war, it would've not been possible to bag the victory with whole nation split between two completely different theory. And having a leader with a moderate sense of differentiating between what is right or wrong will always come at handy. Morally inspired judgements may seem unnecesarrily harsh sometimes and may not be a cup of tea for everyone, but in its ramifications it can prove to be fruitful most of the time.

Immoral judgement can sometimes lead to a transitory success but in the long run it can come out as a complete disaster tagging a price one may not able to pay. And with that said it's also important to consider one's peers point of view for which a leader is here in the first place. If he is not able to appease his followers then he won't get the due respect from them and it can lead to a complete estrangement from the lot. But at the same time it's always not possible to please everyone and still making appropriate decisions. And if someone wants to just please everyone then he/she should rather sell icecreams instead of being in leadership.

So, examining all various angles involved, a leader should always put morality forward to make right decisions.