The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument the author urge to consider that the employees can read faster, absorb more words, thereafter, be much more productive if they use the Easy Read Speed Reading course. to support this recommendation he states that the graduates who took this course were able to read the a long reports in significantly lesser time than the one who did not. While some people agree to this , I find this argument unconvincing and not cogent for some reasons.

First, author states that a graduate who took speed reading course were able to read the entire report in 2 hours and hence considered more productive. This claim cannot be accepted as it stands. It is entirely possible to assume that this very graduate was efficient enough in reading the long-reports before he took this speed reading course. Also, it is never mentioned by the author whether the report read by him belongs to his department or from the other, as if it belongs from his workspace than he might already have to pre-required knowledge which would significantly helped him to understand much faster. Author also recommended this course as it helped for the promotion of the employees. Here, correlation does not prove causation. Perhaps this employee got promotion on the basis of his previous performance or how he handled the pressure with the on-going work. While, the brief statement stating that attending this course can make an employee more productive seems to be a robust idea , it deficit between what is states and what is there to be evidence for which is too large to be overlooked. This ultimately cause the a week argument that will count against the author conclusion.

Second, the author speculated that if Acme introduce the speed reading program it will only cost $500 per employee. However, if this course will be taught within the Acme premisis then there will be the overhead cost per employee as well as company will need to provide the space probably a seminar hall with the electricity and drinking water as the basic need. Hence, it will increase the cost per employee that this course promised to deliver. Also, employees have to take a time off from their office schedule that will subsequently decrease efficiency of the work process. Therefore, this assumption is over generalized and author's argument lack compelling reason to convince his proposal.

However, it is true that with the help of increment in the reading speed of the employees, they can be quicker and better in understanding the project reports that most the this work depends upon. But, as state above this course will take some time off from their schedule that will hinder in the work processes which will,consequently, decrease the efficiency of the project and will take more time in it's completion. Hence author is flawed in a way that he failed to substantiate his conclusion with the strong evidence and is teemed with poor reasoning. The careful perusing of the evident provided in the argument reveals that many questions have been left unanswered without which the reader cannot consider it to be consequential.

In conclusion, it is a vague and ambiguous argument. To bolster the author's claim the author, much at very least, provide the concrete evidence, perhaps with the help of a survey participating the upper and lower level employees of Acme, to know whether there is an appropriate need for this course or not.