Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument the author urge to consider that there is a declining of arctic deer population due to the increase in global warming in recent year. To support this recommendation, he states that the Arctic dear are not able to migrate from one island to the other as the path covered in ice is not available for them. I find this argument unconvincing for some reasons.

First, author hypothesized that the path connecting adjacent islands is not covered in ice due increase in Global warming within that area restricting migration of Deers due to which they are dying because they dont have to access for their food. It is equally possible to assume that the reason for the decrease in deer population is their wild nature within themselves as they are known to be loners for the fact that they do not form social bond with their own species. Also statistics shows that at least 24 deer were found in dying state not for the reason for the inaccessibility for their food but for blood bath in fight with their competitors in their mating season. Arctic deer are also known be to aggressive during mating season and unfortunately, their migration and mating season collides in same time of the year. Hence it is presumption to say that Arctic deer are dying because they cannot migrate and access their food.

Second, author believes in the report of local hunters which states that the population of deer is declining and therefore, presupposed that increase in global warming is a reason for the declination of their population. This assumption is unwarranted. It might seems enough to concede with the author but a careful scrutiny reveals some logical flaws that must be considered. Arctic region is an isolated polar place where arctic deer is the primary source of meet for the hunters living in that area. It might be possible that there is a increase of hunting by the people living in that region due to which dear population is declining. Also some deer might be presumed dead due to some illness caused by eating rotten meat of other animal or fishes. Therefore, the claims made by the author seems unsubstantial.

Author uses survey error which is defined as the biased survey taken from the culprit region. Here the report made by local hunters about the declining of arctic deer population seems biased as they are trying to vindicate themselves from the act of hunting. Hence, this argument is flawed.

In conclusion, this is not a strong argument. To bolster it the author must, at very least, should provide concrete evidence like an unbiased survey from the geologist and availability of food in the adjacent island, perhaps by the way of reliable investigation, so that the proper cause for declination of deer population can be revealed.