College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

College provides education that is necessary to build the foundation of one’s career. It Is of vital importance that student should major in the subject that falls in his area of interest a well as the one which is trending out in the current market. The availability of jobs certainly depends upon the problems incurred by the general population and organizations and necessary training is needed for that to solve them. Therefore, it is the needed training that decided which subject is booming that the upcoming students should choose which offer them bread and butter.

My father belongs from a small district near Uttar Pradesh, India, which has the non-existent industries to looking for employment. In the late 20th century, civil architecture and engineering were on the boom and likely to be a future source for the availability of jobs. Therefore, it was a prudent decision for him to pursue a bachelor of technology in Civil engineering and apply for their jobs to provide the livelihood for his family. In later years he grew exponentially, changing companies but under the same stream, and made the good income that made us economically strong and gained respect in the society. Had he not studies the civil course in his college, which being the most productive in the 1970s in India comparing to the current occupations in IT sector, it is unlikely that he can manage to send both of her children abroad for higher education which is termed as the expensive affair for middle-class families in India.

It can be also viewed from recession Point of view. For instance, in 2008, the recession hit the world taking most jobs in the banking and finance sector. People have to live upon selling their personal assets and looking for an alternative job to make peace with their livelihood. The students who studied finance with their free will and employed in the S&P 500 companies, most were unemployed during the long recession and they remain so till a long time. Consequently, they started looking for jobs other than finance, studied, looked for the internship even for free in the hopes to get an employment letter in the near future. Furthermore, the students who were in colleges studying finance and investments in and around 2008, it was not practical for them to do so as the market was not ready to accept them. Therefore, the availability of jobs depends upon the current market requirement.

However, it will be imprudent to say that students will succeed by only studying the subjects where jobs are available. For example, entrepreneurs like Bill Gates and Steve job can be termed as visionary. They studied Computer science which enables them, rather looking for the job, create many 100s of jobs for the upcoming students. They studied within their area of interest and went ahead against the flow in that era where construction and oil industries were more prevalent than IT. Also, the invention of electric cars by Tesla.Inc CEO Elon Musk increases its distribution to the larger extent in America as well as Europe making Norway the first country to attain 80 percent of Electric cars on its streets. Therefore, studying within the students' interest can help the sector to make more opportunities for upcoming college graduates.

In conclusion, I believe that college freshmen should study subjects that interest them but also look for the job availability of with the current market opinion.