If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

By definition, goals are the end products that is achieved in a process. To accomplish it, there are certain to ways; one is to go on the right conventional path, other is to take a new and uncommon way. Eventually, both end up getting the same results. I agree with the author's point but with some reservations.

For a worthy goal, it seems reasonable to support the author's view. Last year there was the Election for New delhi Legislative assembly where many parties took a stand for the participation. However, their ways of convincing the public seem to differ. Indian Congress publicized their agenda with the conventional way of displaying it on the hoverboard and rallies throughout the city while the new party, AAP, tried to picket; a peaceful demonstration in the city center to get the public attention. It was a new and unique way of gathering the public eye over the important problems that are affecting society. Their promises also differ from the other participants as they are more pedestrian. Despite having variation in their outspoken agenda, every party has same goal of winning the election. Consequently, the AAP won the election due to their new and unorthodox ways. Therefore, it can be concluded that even though there is a difference in opinion, the goal can be achieved.

Another reason for my view is that sometimes there are some extenuating circumstances where any means to attain the goal seems justifiable. In the case of abduction of a woman followed by the rape harassment, it seems justifiable for the woman taking any measures necessary to escape for that situation in accordance to her self-defense. It might be possible that the victim can hurt the rapist to the extent that it can become fatal for him but the woman does not have many options to choose as it is more like her life and dignity versus him. And she chose the most viable option even though it might go against humanity. Therefore, desperate times can lead to desperate measures.

However, it is reasonable to the counterpoint of the author's argument and state that one should always be aboveboard to achieve their goals as his cross-measures can create the problems for other participants. For example, some students take different measures to score good marks in a school examination by cheating with the help of some resources and venality. This ultimately affects other students appearing for the same exams as they may get a lower rank and could not get promoted to the next class. Even though both types of the student has the same goal of clearing the exams, the one who used the false method was able to secure the seat by hindering the honest student that needs to be promoted, which ultimately results in the loss for real talent. Thus, sometimes it seems imperative to walk on the right course to accomplish the achievement as the false doing one can affect others.

In conclusion, it can be said that if the goal is worth it independently depends upon the situation to address the ways to attain as justifiable.