The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument author urge to consider that the chain of cheese store should discontinue selling the imported cheese and should concentrate more on domestic cheese as the chain's subscribers are more inclined in buying that. To support this recommendation, he cited that domestic cheddar cheese from Wisconsin is among the top selling cheese that cheese-store chain sells. While some people agree to this, I find this argument unconvincing for some reasons.

First, the author states that Chedder cheese is among top five best selling cheese and hence should be the only cheese the store should sell. This claim can not be accepted as it stands. It is entirely possible that the sales of other four top selling cheese are short by a small margin and then discontinuing those products will ultimately create a loss for the entire chain. The owner opened a new store in the state of Wisconsin where the residents like domestic made cheese but what about the other stores in other cities as this chain have their stores throughout the united states. Perhaps in california residents like imported cheese from Europe rather domestic cheese sold by this chain as author never mention the preference of other states. While the statement of discontinuing the the existing imported cheese seems to appear a robust idea , it deficit between what states and what there is evidence for it and is too large to be overlooked. This ultimately cause the week argument that will court against the author's conclusion.

Second, on the basis of survey, author hypothesized that the cheese chain should get rid of the inventory of the existing imported cheese and rather focus on producing and selling the domestic cheese. This assumption is unwarranted as there is nothing said about the participants of this survey. It might be possible that the survey is done only in the states where people like domestic cheese that makes this survey biased and not reasonable. Also, the cheese store is a large supplier and the seller of cheese all across the country so they must be having the large inventory. If there will be a discontinuation of the important cheese then what will happen to the existing inventory that already procured from all over the world? It would be a huge lose for the company. Therefore the assumption is overgeneralized and author lacks compelling and affluent reasoning to convince his proposal.

However, it might be possible that people of united states like the quality of domestic cheese as it is locally made and is rather fresh as compared to the imported cheese which is made few months ago along with certain use of preservatives but we do not know which state wants domestic and which wants imported cheese as author never mentioned it. Hence the augment is flawed in the way that it fails to substantiate the strong evidence and is teemed with poor reasoning. The carful perusing of the evident provided in the argument reveals that many questions have been left unanswered whiteout which reader cannot consider it to be consequential.

On conclusion this is not a strong argument.To bolster this, the author must at very least, should provide the concrete evidence regarding the preference of both types of cheese, perhaps with the help of survey, which will strengthen the author claim.