"In a recent telephone survey of automobile factory workers, older employees were less likely to report that having a supervisor present increases their productivity. Among workers aged 18 to 29, 27 percent said that they are more productive in the presence of their immediate supervisor, compared to 12 percent for those aged 30 or over, and only 8 percent for those aged 50 or over. Clearly, if our printing company hires mainly older employees, we will increase productivity and save money because of the reduced need for supervisors. "

Author states that if the printing company hires mainly older employees, it will increase their productivity and it will save money because the need of supervisors will be less, to draw such a conculsion the author takes the base of a telephone survey of a automobile factory workers in which it was found that older employees were less likely to report that having a supervisor present increases their productivity. It was found that workers among the age of 18 to 29, 27 percent said that they are more productive in the presence of their immediate supervisor, compared to 12 percent for those aged 30 or over, and only 8 percent for those aged 50 or over.

The conculsion drawn by the author is completly absurd, full of flaws and is based on lot of assumptions.

Firstly,the author has assumed that the productivity of both the young people and the old aged people are same, which is not true since if the work involved any kind of labour work then clearly young people will be more effective.For instance if the dilivery work of the printed material from one place to another is given to an old man he will not be as effective as a young man. Undoubtedly in a printing company there must be different work for which old people will not be suitable and if such works are given to them the productivity will obiviouly decrease.

The survey which was the base of the argument can also be not trusted compeletly as it was done by the workers of an automobile factory and not a printing company, since what applies for automobile company cannot be true for a printing company. It is highly possible that people in a printing company regardless of the age need a supervisor to increase their productivity. Another possiblity is that in a printing company old people need a supervisor to increase their productivity in against the young people depending on the work they are given, Hence if any case is taken into consideration then the productivity will go down. In addition to this assuming the survey to be true, we can clearly see that only 27 percent said that their productivity increase when they are in the presence of their immediate supervisor while the rest 73 percent agreed that their prodcutivity remains the same depsite the absence of supervisior.

Clearly one cannot deny the fact that to run a company succesfully we need both young enuthusiam and old experience in a balanced ratio, absence of any will lead to decrase profits and productivity and hence the idea pitched by the author to hire mainly older employees can backfire and their company can suffer losses.