"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Happy Pancake House’s business managers argues that customers are not able to distinguish butter from margarine or they deliberately use the term ‘butter’ to refer to both those items. He/she supports this argument with a 2% complaint rate from customers, and the supposed fact that customers do not really complain about having margarine instead of butter. While the argument may hold some merit, it is currently a severely limited one as it fails to recognize there are four other possible explanations that can account for these results.

To begin, it is possible that the ‘facts’ the manager cites have actually been altered to strengthen his/ her argument. For instance, it is possible that the servers did not report the true number of customers who complained about the change as they were financially incentive to do so. That is, they may receive a higher paycheck or bonus if the replacement from butter to margarine is a success. Besides such financial incentives, there may also be social and prestige-related reasons to supporting this argument. Assuming that this manager initiated this change, then its failure may be quite damaging to his/her reputation and future career prospects at this business. Hence, he/she may have altered the facts to create a better image in the firm.

Furthermore, even if we assume that no such alteration was done to the facts, there may be still other reliability and validity issues with the stated facts. Should this hold true, then these issues may account for these results. For instance, questioning only 100 customers out of the potential thousands or millions may have skewed the results to favor the manager’s position. Indeed, it is possible that the manager would have found that customers dislike margarine than butter if he/she surveyed 10,000 customers. Besides the potential problem with the sample size, there may be issues with the nature of the sample that influenced the results. For instance, if only young teenagers were questioned, then this result may not apply to the other potential customers of Happy Pancake House restaurants. Indeed, it is possible the gustatory preferences of seniors, middle-aged adults, and young adults are significantly different than this demographic. Thus, it is possible that the results would be markedly different if the manager corrected for these potential issues with sample size and nature.

Thirdly, even if there are no issues to the findings as discussed above, it is still not clear if the reported results accurately reflect customers’ true feelings towards margarine and butter. For example, customers may have been too shy and diffident to complain. It is also possible that the culture of southwestern America influenced these results. For instance, if complaining is frowned upon in this region, then this may account for the lack of complaints. Given that these external influences on the results cannot be ruled out, the argument that customers are not able to distinguish between butter and margarine does not hold water.

Finally, there is also the possibility that customers are not only able to distinguish between the two, but actually appreciate margarine more than butter. While the manager assumes that this is not the case, this explanation could account for the lack of customer complaints. Indeed, there are several possible explanations for this. For example, perhaps margarine tastes better with pancakes and the other food items the restaurants sell. Similarly, there may be greater health benefits to margarine over butter that explain these results. Thus, the possibility that margarine is liked over butter cannot be ruled out if these scenarios hold any merit.

In conclusion, the manager’s argument, as it stands now, is flawed as it fails to recognize the other four potential explanations that could account for these results. However, if the manager can provide evidence that addresses these four possibilities, then it will be possible to better assess his/her argument.