Recently Honey Bun replaced the use of sugar with aspartame, a sugar substitute, throughout its bakeries in the Northeast regions of the United States. Contrary to initial expectations, this change did not negatively impact our customer's preference. So f

The manager of Honey Bun Bakery suggest the recent replacement of sugar with aspartame to all the branches in the country. He has based the stament on assumptions of customers reviews. However, the manager must also consider alternate explanations which could prove his statements wrong.

First of all, the manager hasn't stated the cause of the replacement of sugar with aspartame. Was it because of increased costs of sugar or quality issues? It can so happen that the cost of aspartame exceeds the cost of sugar and making the replacement would cost Honey Bun Bakery a higher production cost. In such a case the replacement should not be advised. Similarly the health effects of aspartame with comparison to sugar must also be made. Because if the ill effects of aspartame is higher the manager must not adopt the use of aspartame in the products as this could lose them patreons of the bakery.

Secondly, the manager has stated that only 5 percent of people have complained about this change. It could have an alternate explanation that only 5 percent people noticed the change and the rest didn't notice the change or were hesitant to complain. In such a case, the manager's claim can be refuted that 95 percent of people have no problem with the replacement.

Thus a survey of people must be conducted to compare the products made with aspartame with that of sugar. It would ascertain the fact whether the customers would like it or not. It could so happen that products made from aspartame are different such as the taste or texture of the product and the customers preferred products made from sugar and so, the manager must align his decisions with the customers preference.

Without further proof, the manager must hold his decision to implement the replacement in all the branches in the country as the assumptions made are flawed and its implementation would cause a higher economic loss or loss of customers which would be undesirable.