A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that the increasing use of salicylates by companies can effectively reduce the headaches in Mentia. However, there are several evidence that the author need to provide in order to make the conclusion.

First of all, the author need to provide the method of the study. Is it a controlled study? Does the patients receive a constant amount of salicylates every year without any use of aspririn to mitigate headaches. If other drugs are used by headache patients then we cannot conclude that salicylates are directly effective to headaches. Also, is the group within the study with a similar age? Teenagers and children tend to have an ability of curing faster that the elderly. Moreover, does the people in the study have any headaches before? People who had headaches before may have a better experience of method to cure faster, or even find the right doctor. Therefore, although people consumed more salicylates, without knowing whether the study is a authentic and controlled one. We cannot conclude that the reduce of headaches are related to salicylates.

Secondly, information of the habits of Mentia residents need to be provided. During the twenty years, are residents in Mentia having better health knowledge? More articles about how to prevent illness and correct diet might have increased. Making residents apply a healthy lifestyle during the two decades. The government of Mentia may also established significant amount of sport facilities encourages residents the exercise daily. Thus, informtion about the health habits of Mentia need to be provided.

Thirdly, foods containing salicylates naturally is different than adding artificially in food products. We should regard them having the same effects in the human body. As more salicylates are adding in food products. Is there a certain limit of salicylates that a human are able to consume. If the amount of salicylates crosses a certain level. Will it cause headache or other diseases? Before claiming that headaches will decrease due the the increase use of salicylates. Evidence need to be provide by the author that it will not cause other health issues if we consume more salicylates.

The author needs to provide the evidence mentioned above to claim his conclusion.